Category: WMS News

Vote – Team of the Decade: Five-Eighth

The back five is decided and we move on to the playmakers for the Team of the Decade.

The Seagulls have been fortunate to have some quality men wear the number 6 jersey over the past decade and it will be a tough choice for fans to decide who will don the famous jersey once worn by ‘The King’ Wally Lewis.

Patrick Templeman

Patrick Templeman scoring a try for the Seagulls in the 2019 Preliminary Final in Townsville

Templeman is the current Seagulls five-eighth and played a key role in the run to the 2019 Intrust Super Cup Grand Final. Joining the club from the Canterbury Bulldogs in 2015, Templeman won the Courier Mail Medal (now called Petero Civoniceva Medal) in the same year.

Jacob Fauid

Jacob Fauid in action during the 2012 Intrust Super Cup Grand Final.

The dynamic Fauid was a member of the 2012 Seagulls Premiership winning team. The Dolphins had scored first in the final but Fauid would level the score just before the break when a Luke Dalziel-Don offload put him over near the uprights. Although his stint was brief, Fauid made a mark on the club before departing at the end of the 2013 season.

Ben Cronin

Ben Cronin was 18th Man in the 2014 Queensland Residents side.

Joining the club in 2014 Cronin would form a formidable left edge with the already-selected Mitch Buckett (centre position) for a number of years. Cronin came from the renowned Roosters and Cowboys systems and went on to be selected in the Queensland Residents squad in 2014.

Team of the Decade: Voting Criteria

A combination of votes combined across social media and website will be compiled. Selection should be based on a player’s contribution to the Seagulls during the time period (2010 – 2019) only and doesn’t take into account any future success elsewhere – for example, if they went on to play NRL.

Stay tuned each week as we debate and subsequently announce each position and winner chosen by the fans.

If you would like to support the Seagulls now and Forever find out how you can through the Forever Seagulls program here

Wynnum Manly Coaches 1951 to Present

by Seagulls Forever | Jun 12, 2020

When the Wynnum Manly Rugby League Football Club was accepted into competition for the 1951 season, an overwhelming decision was  made to hand the coaching duties to the current Wynnum Manly representative coach Abby Thurlow.  Thurlow a former player with plenty of coaching experience in the local competition, was given one of the toughest jobs in forming a side from players in the local district.  

Continue reading “Wynnum Manly Coaches 1951 to Present”

Forever Seagulls: Support Your Club

The Forever Seagulls program has been created to support and protect your club now and into the future.

The Seagulls are facing one of the toughest moments in their history and they need your support. Even without football being played there are many ways you can still support your club. Wear your merchandise with pride, buying your membership early or supporting the Seagulls Foundation with a fully tax deductible donation.

Read: Club CEO Hanan Laban’s Letter to Seagulls’ Fans

We know it isnt possible for everyone to support the club with one of the below options in this current time and appreciate all our fans and look forward to welcoming you back to games at BMD Kougari Oval in the future.