2018 Seagulls’ Award Winners

The Seagulls’ stand out performers were honoured at the 2018 Seagulls Presentation Gala which culminated in the presentation of the Wynnum Manly Leagues Club – Player of the Year award.

It was a tense affair for the leading Player of the Year nominees who were unveiled at the commencement of the evening.

Leaders Max Elliot, Delouise Hoeter, Daniel Ogden and Patrick Carrigan all lead at some stage during the final four rounds, such was the tightness in competition for 2018’s top gong.

Heading into the final round, Ogden lead the scoring by one vote over Junior Kangaroo Carrigan and mercurial centre Hoeter, who were both tied for points and biting on the retiree’s heels.

All 250 guests beckoned their anticipation in complete silence as the final scoring for the evening was announced.

Guests filled the Wynnum Manly Leagues Club Skyview Room

The last competition round against the Townsville Blackhawks saw Pat Carrigan receive one point, whilst Ogden was awarded with the three points – making him the Wynnum Manly Seagulls Player of the Year for the second time in his career. The result capping off a scintillating final month of football for Ogden which included three man of the match performances.

Reflective of the season had, Ogden’s collection of awards also included the BMD Players’ Player and Anthony Schweitzer Supporters Award. A fitting way to close the curtain on a decorated career for the Intrust Super Cup’s most prolific try scorer.

In other awards, young-gun Ed Burns was recognised by the Wynnum Manly Old Boys for his stand out rookie season whilst front-rower Junior Pita received acknowledgement as the best ‘Junior to Senior’.

Coach Ron Troutman, John Te Reo and Mitch Moore helped the crowd relive the club’s first Reserve Grade premiership since 2007, re-capping on a frantic and nerve-wracking finale against Redcliffe.

Pictured: BRL Coach Ron Troutman on stage with MC Chris Bombolas

Troutman paid tribute to the dedication shown by his leadership group as well as commending the professionalism and resilience displayed by the entire squad of 45 players.

Club stalwarts Peter Gubb (150 Seagulls ISC games), Daniel Ogden (100 Seagulls ISC games) John Te Reo (10 years of service) were acknowledge for milestone achievements, before the club bid farewell to its departing players.

Full List of Awards

Wynnum Manly Leagues Club – Intrust Super Cup Player of the Year

Daniel OGDEN

Pictured: (Left to right) Adam Brideson, Daniel Ogden, Craig Thomas











BMD – Intrust Super Cup Player’s Player

Daniel OGDEN

BRL A Grade Player of the Year  


BRL A Grade Player’s Player

Matthew MILSON

Pictured: (Left to right) Ron Troutman, Matthew Milson











Hastings Deering Colts Player of the Year


Hastings Deering Colts Player’s Player

Shannon GARDINER and Rashaun DENNY

Pictured: (Left to right) Chris Bombolas, Rashaun Denny, Shannon Gardiner











Anthony Schweitzer Memorial Trophy – Supporter’s Award:

Daniel OGDEN

Australian Industry Trade College – Mal Meninga Cup Player of the Year


Pictured: (Left to right) Braden Whittaker, Toni Banfield











Australian Industry Trade College – Mal Meninga Cup Player’s Player


Trevor Neibling Memorial Trophy – Best Junior to Senior

Junior PITA

Pictured: Junior Pita











Arch Geary Shield – Volunteer of the Year


Wynnum Manly Seagulls – Club Man of the Year


Wynnum Manly Old Boys – Commitment and Service

Edward BURNS

Special Acknowledgements

Peter GUBB – 150 ISC Games for the Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Daniel OGDEN – 100 ISC Games for the Wynnum Manly Seagulls

John TE REO – 10 years of service for the Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Departing Players – Daniel OGDEN, Mitch MOORE, Josh HOFFMAN, Atelea VEA, Michael DOBSON, Adam TUIMAVAVE-GERRARD