BRL and Colts are Finals Bound

By Seagulls Media

It has been a successful season for the BMD Wynnum Manly Seagulls lower grades with the BRL A Grade and Hastings Deering Colts’ sides both earning finals berths.

The BRL A Grade side finished the regular season in 3rd place, narrowly missing out on a Top 2 finish.

Coach Ron Troutman’s side will be calling on signficant experience in the championship weeks of the season, with captain John Te Reo a testimonial player who has played over 150 Intrust Super Cup games. The wily veteran has been the on-field leader all season and will be calling the shots from the five-eighth position.

Intrust Super Cup regulars Peter Gubb, Junior Pita and Adam Tuimavave-Gerrard also have qualified for the BRL finals and will bring a lot of impact in the finals’ series.

The BRL A Grade side will play the Easts Tigers at BMD Kougari Oval this Saturday afternoon at 5pm.

The Hastings Deering Colts side had a magical finish, toppling the Minor Premiers Townsville Blackhawks in the final regular season game to qualify in 6th spot for the finals.

Coach Joe O’Callaghan has developed his young side from a bottom of the table finish in 2017 to title contenders in 2018.

Young guns to watch out for are half Shannon Gardiner (pictured) who is the competition’s leading point scorer with 191 points, back rowers Lachlan Perry and Dredin Sorensen-McGee and captain Mitipere Tuatai.

The Young Gulls will have a wonderful opportunity to play before the Melbourne Storm and Penrith Panthers NRL match at AAMI Park on Friday night. They kick off at 5pm.

Wynnum Manly Seagulls – BRL A Grade

  1. Matthew Milson
  2. Peter Gubb
  3. Harlan Collins
  4. Tumoana Halkyard
  5. Jack Goodsell
  6. John Te Reo (c)
  7. Mitchell Moore
  8. Junior Pita
  9. Kalolo Saitaua
  10. Bill Solah
  11. Adam Tuimavave-Gerrard
  12. Semisi Ahoafi
  13. Joshua Hoffman


  1. Corey Davis
  2. Jacob Paulo
  3. Bradley Mana
  4. Kelly Tate
  5. Jaz Nahu-Main
  6. Adrian Elder

Coach Ron Troutman

Wynnum Manly Seagulls – Hastings Deering Colts

  1. Reece Mckenzie-O’Brien
  2. Ryan O’Keefe
  3. Travis Leo
  4. Rashaun Denny
  5. Reece Hoffman
  6. David Quinlin
  7. Shannon Gardiner
  8. Payden Porter
  9. Zane Wallace
  10. Brock Richardson
  11. Lachie Perry
  12. Dredin McGee
  13. Mitipere Tuatai (c)


  1. Te Pirihi Puke-Riki
  2. Sam Ballinger
  3. Zayne Holleran
  4. Tino Stowers

Coach Joe O’Callaghan