Five Seagulls named in XXXX Queensland Residents side

By Seagulls Media

A great start to the season has seen the BMD Wynnum Manly Seagulls rewarded with five players named in the XXXX Queensland Residents side.

Sam Scarlett, Mitch Cronin, Delouise Hoeter, Keenan Palasia and Richard Kennar will don the maroon jumper to play New South Wales at Dolphin Stadium this Sunday.

The Seagulls have not had this many players in the Residents’ side since 2012, when they also had five selected as well as the coach in Paul Green.

Cronin will play in his fourth consecutive representative match (2016-2019) confirming his status as an elite player in the competition.

Hoeter will play his second  match for Queensland (2017, 2019) whilst Scarlett, Palasia and Kennar are all on debut.

Sam Scarlett will make his Queensland Residents debut / Photo: James O’Reilly

Featuring an array of talent from the Intrust Super Cup, coach Jon Buchanan said he was pleased with the overall strength of the team and its strike power in key positions.

“There’s a number of really good players who have missed out, which is what can happen when you’re picking a team like this out of the Intrust Super Cup,” he said.

“In consultation with the QRL and fellow selectors, we’ve made every effort to provide an opportunity for players who have been involved in Queensland’s junior pathways.” 

XXXX Queensland Residents

1. Jesse Arthars – Burleigh Bears / Gold Coast Titans
2. Richard Kennar – Wynnum Manly Seagulls / Brisbane Broncos
3. Connor Broadhurst – Norths Devils
4. Delouise Hoeter – Wynnum Manly Seagulls
5. Izaia Perese – Redcliffe Dolphins / Brisbane Broncos
6. Billy Walters – Easts Tigers / Melbourne Storm
7. Sam Scarlett – Wynnum Manly Seagulls
8. Corey Jensen – Townsville Blackhawks / NQ Cowboys
9. Harry Grant – Sunshine Coast Falcons / Melbourne Storm
10. Nat Neale – Ipswich Jets
11. Patrick Kaufusi – Easts Tigers / Melbourne Storm
12. Keenan Palasia – Wynnum Manly Seagulls
13. Tom Gilbert – Townsville Blackhawks / NQ Cowboys
14. Mitch Cronin – Wynnum Manly Seagulls
15. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui – Sunshine Coast Falcons / Melbourne Storm
16. Brett Greinke – Easts Tigers
17.  Darryn Schonig – Sunshine Coast Falcons
18. Nathan Watts – Redcliffe Dolphins
XXXX Queensland Residents v Canterbury Cup NSW Residents 
Dolphin Stadium
Sunday, May 12 – 1.10pm kick off (Live on GEM in Queensland and NSW)
Curtain raiser – 11am – National Under 18 final