Seagulls crowned competition’s best at QRL Awards Dinner

By Seagulls Media 

The BMD Wynnum Manly Seagulls are pleased to report that two players from the club’s Intrust Super Cup side received major awards at the League’s annual dinner on Friday night, held at Brisbane’s City Hall.

Both Edene Gebbie and Pat Templeman have been recongised as the competition’s best for their respective positions.

Gebbie, who leads the league in tackle breaks (162) and run meters (4,377) was named ISC Fullback of the year. Overcoming a strong list of candidates including Nicho Hynes (Sunshine Coast Falcons), Devils captain Jack Ahern and fellow grand finalist Kurtis Rowe (Burleigh Bears).

The Papua New Guniea international has dazzled crowds all year with his electric runs and exciting style of play. So much so, he earned himself a chance to achieve to his childhood dream of playing in the NRL after picking up a contract with the South Sydney Rabbitohs from season 2020.

Gebbie is a fan favorite at BMD Kougari Oval

Pat Templeman too was acknowledged for his stellar form in season 2019, taking out ISC Five-Eighth of the year.

A stalwart for the Gulls since joining in 2015, Templeman has produced match winning plays in the clutch moments of big games.

Pat Templeman puts the ball down for a try against the Blackhawks

The 2015 Petero Civoneceva medalist has made a knack of scoring long range tries for the Seagulls this season, crossing eleven times in total. However none were more important than his 60 meter dash to the try line against Townsville in last week’s Preliminary Final.

Other notable mentions for the Seagulls include;

Adam Brideson (Coach of the year nominee), Mitch Cronin (Player of the year and Hooker of the year nominee), Sam Scarlett (Player of the year and halfback of the year nominee), Shannon Gardiner (HD Colt of the year nominee), Jake Simpkin (Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup Player of the year nominee) Reece Hoffman (Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup Player of the year nominee).

See below for the full list of award winners.

Queensland Rugby League Grassroots Club of the Year

Atherton Rugby League Football Club

Queensland Rugby League Volunteer of the Year

Bevan Owens – Normanton Stingers

Queensland Rugby League Women in League Achievement Award

Sharon Hickey – Pine Central Holy Spirit

Pedro Gallagher Intrust Super Cup Rookie of the Year, presented by the Carbine Club

Tom Gilbert – Townsville Blackhawks

Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup Player of the Year

Joshua James – Norths Devils and Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow – Townsville Blackhawks

Hastings Deering Colts Player of the Year

Tom McGrath – Northern Pride

Harvey Norman Queensland Women’s Representative Player of the Year

Annette Brander – Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons

XXXX Queensland Men’s Representative Player of the Year

Xavier Coates

Intrust Super Cup Leading Points Scorer

Todd Murphy – Sunshine Coast Falcons – 270 points

Intrust Super Cup Leading Try Scorer

Jon Reuben – Sunshine Coast Falcons and Matt Soper-Lawler – Souths Logan Magpies, both 23 tries

Intrust Super Cup Team of the Year, presented by Stage and Screen

Fullback: Edene Gebbie – Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Winger: Jonathon Reuben – Sunshine Coast Falcons

Centre: Izaia Perese – Redcliffe Dolphins

Five-eighth: Pat Templeman – Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Halfback: Todd Murphy – Sunshine Coast Falcons

Prop: Jordan Grant – Redcliffe Dolphins

Hooker: Harry Grant  – Sunshine Coast Falcons

Second rower: Chris Lewis – Sunshine Coast Falcons

Lock: Tom Gilbert – Townsville Blackhawks

Intrust Super Cup Coach of the Year, presented by Stage and Screen

Eric Smith – Sunshine Coast Falcons

Petero Civoniceva Medal, presented by Stage and Screen

Jamal Fogarty – Burleigh Bears