Vote – Team of the Decade: Five-Eighth

The back five is decided and we move on to the playmakers for the Team of the Decade.

The Seagulls have been fortunate to have some quality men wear the number 6 jersey over the past decade and it will be a tough choice for fans to decide who will don the famous jersey once worn by ‘The King’ Wally Lewis.

Patrick Templeman

Patrick Templeman scoring a try for the Seagulls in the 2019 Preliminary Final in Townsville

Templeman is the current Seagulls five-eighth and played a key role in the run to the 2019 Intrust Super Cup Grand Final. Joining the club from the Canterbury Bulldogs in 2015, Templeman won the Courier Mail Medal (now called Petero Civoniceva Medal) in the same year.

Jacob Fauid

Jacob Fauid in action during the 2012 Intrust Super Cup Grand Final.

The dynamic Fauid was a member of the 2012 Seagulls Premiership winning team. The Dolphins had scored first in the final but Fauid would level the score just before the break when a Luke Dalziel-Don offload put him over near the uprights. Although his stint was brief, Fauid made a mark on the club before departing at the end of the 2013 season.

Ben Cronin

Ben Cronin was 18th Man in the 2014 Queensland Residents side.

Joining the club in 2014 Cronin would form a formidable left edge with the already-selected Mitch Buckett (centre position) for a number of years. Cronin came from the renowned Roosters and Cowboys systems and went on to be selected in the Queensland Residents squad in 2014.

Team of the Decade: Voting Criteria

A combination of votes combined across social media and website will be compiled. Selection should be based on a player’s contribution to the Seagulls during the time period (2010 – 2019) only and doesn’t take into account any future success elsewhere – for example, if they went on to play NRL.

Stay tuned each week as we debate and subsequently announce each position and winner chosen by the fans.

If you would like to support the Seagulls now and Forever find out how you can through the Forever Seagulls program here