Vote – Team of the Decade: Halfback

Your backline is nearly complete Seagulls fans and now we just need someone to direct the team around the park in the all important halfback position.

The selection doesn’t get any easier this week with three classy halfbacks to choose from. Good luck!

Mathew Seamark

Rugby League: Seagulls riding three-game winning streak | Quest News
Matt Seamark was a mainstay of the Seagulls for a decade after joining from Redcliffe.

Seamark is the all-time most capped Seagull (190games), finishing a career that included two premierships (2011 & 2012) at the end of 2017.

Speaking of the back to back triumphs, Seamark said “That was just a special time for everyone involved in the club. It was a great achievement and something the Seagulls had not done before, but it made it even more special that I was able to do it with some great mates. Those memories I will remember for a long time.”

Seamark also played 6 times for Wales between 2011 and 2017.

Sam Scarlett

Sam Scarlett was a big part of the Seagulls run to the 2019 Grand Final.

The current Seagulls halfback starred in the team’s run to the Intrust Super Cup Grand Final in 2019. Leading the league in try assists (33) and linebreak assists (25) as well as top 5 across a number of other key stats.

Joining the club in 2019 after the retirement of Seamark and Michael Dobson in successive years, Scarlett only had the one year to press his claims for the team. Time will tell if it is enough.

Matthew Smith

Wynnum-Manly Seagulls coach unveils new signings for 2015 Intrust ...
Smith was a part of the victorious Under 20s Canberra Raiders side of 2009

Joining the Seagulls in 2015, Smith would play in both the 6 and 7 jersey during his time with the Gulls – often partnering with fellow nominee, Matt Seamark. Smith was a tenacious competitor and Wynnum junior who went on to play Under 20s with Canberra Raiders and win the inaugural NYC competition.

Team of the Decade: Voting Criteria

A combination of votes combined across social media and website will be compiled. Selection should be based on a player’s contribution to the Seagulls during the time period (2010 – 2019) only and doesn’t take into account any future success elsewhere – for example, if they went on to play NRL.

Stay tuned each week as we debate and subsequently announce each position and winner chosen by the fans.

If you would like to support the Seagulls now and Forever find out how you can through the Forever Seagulls program here