Former Seagulls to Debut for QLD Origin Team

Selwyn Cobbo and Patrick Carrigan have both been named in the QLD Maroons starting team for State of Origin Game 1 on Wednesday June 8.

Cobbo and Carrigan, both former Wynnum Manly Seagulls, have been rewarded for their rich vein of form and the Brisbane Broncos’ recent success. Another former Seagull, Tom Dearden, has also been named as 18th man and will look to debut throughout the series.

Gulls fans will remember watching these future Origin stars play QLD Cup in previous years, with Cobbo most recently appearing in the 2021 Grand Final.

Cobbo played 10 games for the Seagulls last year, winning 9 of them, and set the competition alight before he became a mainstay on the wing for the Broncos.

Carrigan played the full season for the Seagulls in 2018 and half a season in 2019 before taking the step up to the Broncos.

We wish Selwyn, Pat and Tom all the best next Wednesday night as they take the field for QLD, as well as former Seagull Payne Haas for NSW, and we hope they can help Queensland deliver the State of Origin shield back where it belongs.

The full QLD squad can be found below:

Queensland Maroons Game I squad
  1. Kalyn Ponga – Newcastle Knights
  2. Selwyn Cobbo – Brisbane Broncos
  3. Valentine Holmes – North Queensland Cowboys
  4. Dane Gagai – Newcastle Knights
  5. Xavier Coates – Melbourne Storm
  6. Cameron Munster – Melbourne Storm
  7. Daly Cherry-Evans – Manly Sea Eagles
  8. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui – Gold Coast Titans
  9. Ben Hunt – St George Illawarra Dragons
  10. Josh Papalii – Canberra Raiders
  11. Kurt Capewell – Brisbane Broncos
  12. Felise Kaufusi – Melbourne Storm
  13. Reuben Cotter – North Queensland Cowboys
  14. Harry Grant – Melbourne Storm
  15. Lindsay Collins – Sydney Roosters
  16. Patrick Carrigan – Brisbane Broncos
  17. Jeremiah Nanai – North Queensland Cowboys
  18. Tom Dearden – North Queensland Cowboys
  19. Jai Arrow – South Sydney Rabbitohs
  20. Thomas Flegler – Brisbane Broncos
  21. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow – North Queensland Cowboys
  22. Murray Taulagi – North Queensland Cowboys


Game 1 will be played at Accor Stadium in Sydney as the Maroons looks to win back the State of Origin shield from NSW after 2021.