Seagulls trio included in Kumuls test squad

By Seagulls Media

Papua New Guinea national coach Michael Marum has today announced his squad to play against Toa Samoa in the Pacific Test at Leichardt Oval on Saturday June 22.

The announcement comes as exciting news for Seagulls players; Edene Gebbie, Rhadley Brawa and Edwin Ipape, who have each received the call up to the Kumuls side.

Gebbie’s selection continues a whirlwind 2019 season for the fullback. The potent ball-runner leads almost every Intrust Super Cup attacking stat sheet, 2,768 run meters and 87 tackle breaks among his most impressive competition numbers.

Gebbie has proven that he is an excitement machine in 2019

The Kumuls will call upon the hard-working, no nonsense approach of Brawa to help handle the Samoan line up which features plenty of NRL talent.

The tenacious forward has represented his country twice in the back end of 2018, in a two test series against the England Knights.

For Ipape, the youngest of the Seagulls trio, the selection news is an exciting surprise.

“I’m so happy to get the opportunity to pull on the Kumuls jumper again… To represent my country is always a dream and the highest honor” said Ipape.

Ipape will look to repay the faith shown to him by selectors. “I’m excited that my international coach Murum trusts me… I will do everything that I can to help the team win”.

The game will be televised live on 9Gem and Fox Sports this Saturday night.

Samoa v Papua New Guinea, Saturday 7.40pm, Leichhardt Oval

Papua New Guinea

Edene Gebbie (Wynnum Manly)
Edwin Epape (Wynnum Manly)
Enock Maki (PNG Hunters)
James Segeyaro (Brisbane Broncos)
Junior Rau (PNG Hunters)
Justin Olam (Melbourne Storm)
Kurt Baptiste (North Queensland Cowboys)
Kyle Laybutt (North Queensland Cowboys)
Lachlan Lam (Sydney Roosters)
Luke Page (Burleigh Bears)
Moses Meninga (PNG Hunters)
Nixon Putt (Norths Devils)
Rhadley Brawa (Wynnum Manly)
Rhyse Martin (Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs)
Stanton Albert (PNG Hunters)
Terry Wapi (PNG Hunters)
Xavier Coates (Brisbane Broncos)
Zev John (Melbourne Storm)