Vote – Team of the Decade: Lock

A 100+ game player, a 10+ year player and a Wynnum local who went on to play NRL. Good luck separating these three Seagulls legends!

The lock position could prove to be one of the toughest to decide yet with it being easy to mount a case for all three being included somewhere in the team.

Luke Dalziel-Don

Queensland rugby league: Wynnum Manly Seagulls and Redcliffe ...
Dalziel-Don celebrates back-to-back Premierships with the Seagulls.

Dalziel-Don is considered by many league experts as being ‘the unluckiest Queensland Cup player to have never played NRL.’ But that didn’t stop him from achieveing great things with is beloved Wynnum Manly Seagulls.

Debuting in 2004, Dalziel-Don would go on to lead the club to back to back premierships in 2011 & 2012 as captain and finish his illustrious career at the end of 2013.

Jon Grieve

Jon Grieve - Intrust Super Cup Minor Final - Wynnum Manly Seagulls V Ipswich Jets at BMD Kougari Oval, Manly West. 1.30pm Sunday September 14, 2014. PHOTO: Scott Davis - SMP IMAGES.COM
Grieve on the charge for the Seagulls.

The hard-working Jon Grieve was a member of the 2011 victorious Grand Final side that defeated the Tweed Heads Seagulls at Suncorp Stadium.

Joining from the Sunshine Coast Grieve would go on to re-join the Falcons in the 2016 season, but not before passing the 100-game mark with the Seagulls.

Mitchell Dodds

NRL season 2015: Hell and back for this young Brisbane forward ...
Dodds is a local junior from the Capalaba Warriors.

Dodds was a Capalaba junior who went on to play 76 matches for the Brisbane Broncos and win back to back premierships with the Wynnum Manly Seagulls (2011 & 2012).

Injury often hurt the talented and versatile forward throughout his career, but that never stopped him giving his all when wearing the green and red of the Seagulls. Dodds versatility saw him play front row, second row and lock for the Club.

Team of the Decade: Voting Criteria

A combination of votes combined across social media and website will be compiled. Selection should be based on a player’s contribution to the Seagulls during the time period (2010 – 2019) only and doesn’t take into account any future success elsewhere – for example, if they went on to play NRL.

Stay tuned each week as we debate and subsequently announce each position and winner chosen by the fans.

If you would like to support the Seagulls now and Forever find out how you can through the Forever Seagulls program here